Google's social networking site, Google+ will begin to disappear from next week as the company prepares to end the site in April.
The technology giant will begin by no longer accepting new creations on Google+ on 4 February 4, Google announced before closing the door of the service to all users by April 2. Members were asked to download and save all content in the social network before the end date.
"On April 2, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you've created will be turned off and we'll start deleting content from Google+ consumer accounts," Google said. "The process of deleting content from Google+ consumer accounts, Google+ pages, and album archiving will take several months, and the content may remain at this time."
Google first announced that it plans to close Google+ in October, after the error discovered earlier in the year revealed personal information for up to 500,000 people. It originally set the closing date of August 2019, but decided to move it forward to April after the second error occurred on the platform.
Google+ is also used as a sign-in button on some third-party websites – it will stop working in the coming weeks, but will in some cases be replaced with a standard Google Account button.
However, the website will work for corporate users who use Google+ for G Suite. Google+ first started in June 2011, but fought against Facebook competition in the social media sector.