Sunday , June 16 2019
Home / australia / Australia name their XI for second test

Australia name their XI for second test

Allrounder Marcus Stoinis will have to wait for a test debut after Australia named an unchanged XI for the second Domain Test against Sri Lanka in Canberra, starting tomorrow.

Stoinis was added to the squad for the series decider at Manuka Oval, but the Aussies have stuck with the four frontline bowlers who helped them make a comfortable victory in Brisbane last week.

Skipper Tim Paine's announcement today means young gun Will Pucovski and paceman Peter Siddle have also missed out on having been with the squad in Canberra this week.

Paine said he expects leg-spinning all-rounder Marnus Labuschagne would be required to bowl some overs on a pitch that is expected to be more batting friendly than the one at Gabba last week.

Speaking this morning, coach Justin Langer said he was keen to stick with the same side that played at Gabba and had secured what was just Australia's second win from their past 10 Tests.

"My insight and gut feeling is always nice to keep the same XI after you've had a win," Langer told SEN.

Sri Lanka skipper Dinesh Chandimal said the tourists settled on their XI, but chose to reveal their side at the coin toss tomorrow.

The unchanged XI paves the way for Stoinis to rejoin the Melbourne Stars for their push towards the BBL finals with their next match on Sunday when they play the Perth Scorchers at Optus Stadium.

Similarly, Peter Siddle is set to return to Adelaide Strikers on Sunday when they host the Brisbane Heat after being a 12th man for the Test Side.

More to come

Australia XI: Marcus Harris, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Kurtis Patterson, Tim Paine (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Lyon

Domain Test Series in Sri Lanka

Australia: Tim Paul (c / wk), Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Kurtis Patterson, Will Pucovski, Jhye Richardson, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis

Sri Lanka: Dinesh Chandimal (c) Dimuth Karunaratne Lahiru Thirimanne Kusal Mendis Sadeera Samarawickrama Dhananjaya de Silva Roshen Silva Niroshan Dickwella (wk) Kusal Perera Dilruwan Perera Lakshan Sandakan Suranga Lakmal Nuwan Pradeep Lahiru Kumara Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajith

First Test: Australia won by an innings and 40 runs

Second Test: February 1-5, Canberra

Source link