LeBron James, Breanna Stewart among the athletes of the 2020 SI

LeBron James used his platform during the 2020 elections to inspire young people to get to the ballots.

The annual Sports Illustrated Athlete of the Year award was given to five athletes for 2020, including basketball stars LeBron James and Breanny Stewart.

James and Stewart joined Patrick Mahomes, Naomi Osaka and Laurent Duvernay-Tardif as celebrations this year. This is the third time James has been honored since he was previously selected in 2012 and 2016.

In greeting of the five “activist athletes”, SI praised “the five men and women who were masters in every sense of the word in 2020: masters in the field, masters for others outside.”

Speaking of James, the editors took note of James’s tireless work to “end voter repression and ensure that by 2020 everyone – especially blacks – has equal access to the polls.”

James, 35, has long since found his social and political voice. It is debated whether he is the biggest player in the NBA. But with his efforts for racial justice, education reform, and the empowerment of the black community, as well as his campaign for voting rights and diverse charitable work, there is no doubt that he sets the standard for the modern socially conscious athlete. We will also honor him with this year’s Muhammad Ali Legacy Award for his lifelong determination to serve. “It continues to embody Muhammad’s principles and basic beliefs, using its celebrity platform to promote social justice and political causes that uplift all people,” said Lonnie Ali, widow of the Greatest. “LeBron actively used Muhammad’s example to guide, inform and inspire him along this path.”

As for Stewart, the 2018 WNBA MVP bounced back from the devastating Achilles’ injury that led Seattle Storm to their 4th WNBA Championship, taking home the MVP Finals WNBA Finals for the second time in their career. More importantly, as SI noted: “When the moment came when Stewart stood up, the WNBA superstar did not hesitate. Her support for Black Lives Matter has never wavered, from the opening tip of the season to the celebration of the Storm title. “

Source link